Jamie Oliver’s Dates Energy Balls

I’m addicted to making energy balls now, they are so easy to make and so nice to eat!

This is another Jamie Oliver’s recipe, which can be found here. I have made his apricot version before here.

951ABBFB-4176-44E0-97B5-CE8D07CD6647
Anticlockwise from top left: Blend of the nuts, seeds & rolled oats; after the addition of cinnamon and cocoa; after the addition of honey and water. The mixture had no problem binding together.

Things I did differently:

Halved the recipe and got 10 balls
Toasted the nuts and seeds in the oven
Used rolled oats for puffed rice
Used Capilano normal honey
Omitted turmeric
Used water (1 Tbsp) for orange juice

IMG_2806
Structure of the energy ball. My phone struggled to take a good close-up pic.

Texture: Soft and delicate. Pleasant, just like the apricot ones. However these ones did not weep oil, so I did not have to refrigerate them.

Taste: Well balanced flavours and mildly sweet. Could not taste the cocoa. Lacked a ‘kick’ as turmeric was omitted (I did not have it). Still pleasant.

Overall, I prefer the apricot ones are the cashew+apricot+ginger is just a better combination of flavours. These dates ones were good but a bit meh. You could not tell what you are eating.

So fun! Can’t wait to try other flavour combinations! 😀

**Update: The flavour developed over the days, and the dates taste became unpleasantly overpowering. They all went into the bin. I do not suggest making these if you’re not a dates person!

Leave a comment