Lychee Cake

I have wanted to make lychee cake for such a long time that I have forgotten where I got the inspiration from, LOL!!

Anyway, I scoured online for recipes and this one on dessertfirstgirl looked nice, so I followed it.

I halved the recipe and got a mini loaf cake (365g).

IMG_1578

The batter was so dry I couldn’t even fold in the flour. Had to use an electric beater to incorporate it in!

IMG_1574

The final batter was very thick, almost like Mary Berry’s Victoria Sponge cake batter. The top had to be smoothed out with a spatula before baking.

IMG_1575.JPG

join1

Baked at 180ºC for the first 15 mins, then 170ºC for another 30 minutes. It was actually a mistake, as I intended to bake it at 170ºC throughout but forgot to change the pre-heat temperature >.< Hence the ugly crack.

The cake had a good rise. Luckily it didn’t spill out of the tin!

IMG_1608

Cake texture: was very tender, but dense and crumbly. Probably due to the dryness of the batter. The cake itself didn’t taste dry, it was actually quite moist.

The cross-section of the suspended chunks of lychee was rather unsightly!! 🙈 But they did give bursts of flavour to the cake, which was really nice!

IMG_1612

The lychee fragrance was reasonably noticeable, but the butter still took centre stage. So, it’s a lychee butter cake, not butter lychee cake if you get what I mean…

Oh! and it was very very fragrant when it’s baking!! Again, butter smell, not lychee >.< (I used my champion butter – Lurpak – here),

On Day 2: NO MORE CRUMBLES!!! The cake was beautifully moist and soft and tender and not crumbly like Day 1 anymore! Taste was similar to that on Day 1. 😀

Will I be making this again? Hmm…. not sure. The combination of butter and lychee didn’t sit quite right with me. I still prefer my good old banana cake and carrot cake. I guess lychee is still best for cold desserts. Lychee mousse maybe? 🤤

 

Leave a comment