Panasonic SD-P104: TangZhong bread attempt #2

My first attempt was here. It was a little less than satisfying. But I still had hopes for the breadmaker and I wanna try again. I saw so many successful breadmaker tang zhong bread online, I want my breadmaker to bake me one too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This time, I wrapped the bread pan with some tin foil, as I read that this will prevent the crust from getting all thick and tough and ugly. Besides, I followed a well-known blogger’s recipe with many positive reviews. I knew this is gonna make it!

But look!

That crack! I know that crack!!! Only happens when the inside is not cooked! Nooooooo! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

Actually, my instinct already told me that it is going to be a disaster, and I WAS expecting a disaster, but not to this scale!

Why did I have those inauspicious feeling?

Number one. I missed hand-kneading, so I put wet into dry in a mixing bowl and made them come together as a rough dough. I hand-kneaded for about ten seconds. Then I chuck the dough into the breadmaker. I waited until the dough looked smooth and I poured, you are right, I poured half of the oil into the kneading dough. What happened was the oil was splattered about by the working dough all over the place, even outside the breadmaker! I quickly covered the bread pan and cleaned up the mess. Then, I ever so slowly dribbled the remaining oil onto the kneading dough. Lesson learned.

Number two. The dough was very sticky. That was fine. The thing that amused me was, the dough liked a particular corner of the bread pan. It has got a hand, hanging on to the pan and wanted to come out. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ (see pic above) I played smart and used my spatula to scrape it down from the side. Now, when I use a spatula, I always pair it with a blunt butter knife, so that I can scrape off the stuff from the spatula. But what happened? My butter knife slipped and fell onto the rotating dough! LOL! scared the hell out of me. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Number three. I wanted to make a chocolate chip bread, as in a slightly flavoured bread that has got chocolate chips suspended within it. So I dropped the baking chocolate chips into the dough when the machine asked me to, expecting the chips to just be suspended within the dough. But no! The machine melted my cutie teardrop chips and mixed them into the dough!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

Number four. The dough could not hold its shape. It was so slack and sticky! I could not even take it out! In the end, I tried my best flattening the dough and smoothing the top and also cleaned the loaf pan a little.

Number five. The dough did not rise enough, not even one-halfย of its size! This is so going to be a disaster… ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

Anyway, the baking started at the last 35 minutes. I let it bake till the very last minute.

Took it out after the beep. Wow, big crack. (Top picture) However, the crust was as smooth as a baby’s bottom! ๐Ÿ˜† Amazing what a thin piece of tin foil can do ๐Ÿ™‚ But in this case, it has overdone quite a bit! ๐Ÿ˜‰

and I was right, the middle part was uncooked.ย Stuck a knife in, lots of inedible dough came out. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

I didn’t want to throw the whole thing away, so I baked it again in the oven.

The result was a thick, hard crust with soft, edible cake-like bread inside.

The texture was largely similar to my previous breadmaker tangzhong bread – dense and cake-like. I am not sure why my breadmaker does this to tangzhong recipes. ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

This will be my last attempt for breadmaker tangzhong bread. Next time, I would definitely bake it in the oven! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

